Our Mission

Our mission is to provide personalized, high-quality healthcare relevant to our patient community.

Our Vision

Our vision is to differentiate our hospital by delivering excellent clinical outcomes and superb customer service.

Our History

Four Decades Of Medical Excellence

USC Verdugo Hills Hospital began as Behrens Memorial Hospital, which was established in 1947. Instead of attempting to expand the Behrens facility, a new hospital was built on the hilltop land donated by the Greene family. In 1972, our hospital was created as Verdugo Hills Hospital and was an independent, 158-bed acute care hospital serving patients in the cities of Glendale and La Cañada Flintridge, as well as the surrounding Foothill communities of Southern California for more than 40 years.

In 2013, Verdugo Hills Hospital partnered with the University of Southern California (USC), creating USC Verdugo Hills Hospital. USC Verdugo Hills became part of Keck Medicine of USC, which includes the Keck Medical Center of USC and Keck School of Medicine of USC. All are part of USC, one of the world’s leading private research universities.

Some of our milestones include:

1985 – Outpatient diagnostic and surgery services were added
1988 – Critical care units remodeled
1991 – 18-bed transitional care unit opened
1999 – Wound Care program began
2003 – Emergency Department expanded
2004 – A Balanced Life program introduced
2005 – Gastroenterology Department updated
2005 – ACCESS digital imaging and records system introduced
2008 – Digital Mammography machine introduced
2010 – Telemedicine introduced
2011 – New wireless EKG monitoring system in Cardiac Rehab
2012 – Primary Stroke Center Designation
2013 – USC Verdugo Hills Hospital created
2013 – Designated as a Center of Excellence in Metabolic and Bariatric Surgery™.
2018 – Neonatal Intensive Care Unit (NICU) opened
2021 – Interventional radiology/catheter laboratory wall-breaking

Our Leadership

Executive Team

Armand H. Dorian, MD, MMM, FACEP, CEO of USC Verdugo Hills Hospital
Jason Kell, Associate Chief Financial Officer
Tadren Kennedy, Chief Operating Officer
Theresa Murphy, RN, Chief Nursing Officer
Mary Virgallito, Chief Quality Officer

Governing Board

Armand Dorian, MD, MMM, President
Ann O’Brien, Secretary


Chris Allen
Todd Andrews
Tammy Capretta, RN, MPH
Carl R. Chudnofsky, MD
Alexandria Darras, MD
Steven Giannotta, MD
Rod Hanners
Tina Ito
Happy Khanna, MD
Joseph Ouzounian, MD
Sunder Ramani
David Sagal
Shawn T. Sheffield
Steve Wilder

Community Advisory Board

Sue Wilder, Chair
Kandi Wopschall, Secretary

Chandnish Ahluwalia, MD
Todd Andrews
Patricia Beauchamp
Soo Kim Choi
Robert E. Develle, Jr.
Armand H. Dorian, MD
Steven Hartford, MD
Deputy Chief Andrew Jenks
Tarina Kang, MD
Vernon McGugan
Ayuko K. Siegel
Battalion Chief Todd Tucker